Ellaville was once a booming town during the 1800′s. The town was established in the 1860′s by Gov. George Drew , who also owned the sawmill. The Drew mansion was built in the late 1860′s and after many years of neglect burned to the ground in 1970. Today you can explore the remains of the abandoned bridge, Railroad Bridge, Sawmill, a few old buildings and the Suwannee River Store.
Drew Saw Mill
In 1867, following the Civil War, Drew purchased the property from the state of Florida.
In 1869 in George Drew and Louis Bucki of New York he built a new mill at Ellaville Florida.
The location was ideal since they could use the Withlahochee and Suwannee River to carry the logs to the mill and the existing railroad was nearby.
The Rise and Fall of the Drew Mansion
The Drew Mansion was built in the 1860′s by George Drew near the east-west alignment of the Pensacola & Georgia Railroad where it crossed the Suwannee River, 1/2 mile northwest of Ellaville. It was a beautiful two story mansion surrounded by formal gardens.
The Bridges of Ellaville
People of Early Ellaville
Old Store of EllavilleThis photo is of the interior of the store. Only the piers remain, the floor is long gone.
View more gifts at Zazzle.